Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions?

In recent decades, there has been a growing concern for lacking basic interactive skills in new graduated employees. Given that the trend has its potential for several negative impacts, identifying the reasons could definitely be the key to find solutions.

There are a variety of reasons why interpersonal ability is not mastered by new employees. First, due to the knowledge-based education system in several nations, a huge amount of emphasis would be placed on delivering knowledge to students. Therefore, it would act as an incentive for excelling their major through theoretical subjects instead of those which require interpersonal skill, resulting in the shortage of that skill in numerous pupils after their universities graduates. Second, by putting high pressure and expectation about academic results measuring by personal performance, a number of students would tend to be shown the carrots of high wages and status to achieve top scores in their education process. According to a recent survey carried out by Vinh University, about 60% of interviewed students reported that achieving high grades in academic examination would be the most crucial factor leading to their employment in top-notch companies.

Nevertheless, there are also a myriad of solutions in order to tackle with this issue. First, it is obvious that transforming the teaching approach could be an efficient way to provide teamwork-oriented skills to students. In particular, by focusing on developing employability skills, including interpersonal ability, as a priority, it could act as an incentive for students to acquire numerous teamwork skills through curriculum in their education process. Second, the interaction between universities and corporations should be improved, as pupils could be provided useful work experience placement before entering the workforce. For example, several companies have offered tuition for talented students in top-notch universities in Hanoi in order to ensure their accomplishments in examination, and therefore become employees in those corporations.

In conclusion, the fact that theoretical education systems and high expectation on academic results could explain the pattern. By changing the teaching methods and strengthening the bond between universities and companies, the number of interpersonal ability-mastered employees could significantly increase.