Topic 11/5/19: Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills, such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest some possible solutions?

It is a common sight that firms are concerned about their new staff’s lack of interpersonal skills. While some reasons for this phenomenon can be identified, probable solutions can also be adopted by companies.

The fact that new employees have not mastered many skills from communication to collaboration can be attributed to both their education and family backgrounds. First of all, at schools, youngsters are only encouraged to achieve individual academic success, instead of having social skills and being team-players. Besides, this trend is accentuated by ambitious and traditional parents, particularly in Asian households, where children are heavily imposed on hierarchical management. As a result, these young adults fail to realize the importance of sharing and working in harmony with others in groups.

However, there might be some effective measures to combat this issue which corporations can take. Firstly, enterprises should dedicate their funding towards training sessions and workshops to hone their staff’s skills. For example, this can be done through bonding activities in which employees are required to work together to reach a common goal. Furthermore, recruiters should make cooperative skills as one of their prerequisites for employment. Correspondingly, job seekers would focus on cultivating their social skill sets rather than their academic accomplishments.

To conclude, though I agree that many newly recruited staff have not aced interpersonal skills, there are solutions for companies to effectively mitigate this issue.