Some children nowadays take sports seriously while others play sports in their free time. Is this a positive or negative development?

Give your own opinion and examples.

Sports play an important role in people’s lives. It is believed that sports are beneficial to children whether they play sports with earnest intent or only during their free time.

To start with, there are several reasons why sports are excellent means of spending leisure time for children. The first reason is that sports help children in their physical and mental growth. They engage children to do intense activities that help shape their bodies to become physically fit and mentally alert. Another reason is that sports keep children from wasting their free time playing computer games or watching television that could be detrimental to their well-being. Lastly, sports offer a change in the monotony of academic life. The pressures from school could be tiring for young people and playing sports diverts their attention to a whole new experience of enjoyment and relaxation.

On the other hand, children who are seriously interested in playing sports could build a career in the future. If these children train at an early age, they would develop their physical prowess and skills. A good illustration for this is Roger Federer, who took an interest in sports at an early age, playing tennis and soccer at the age of 8. He then became one of the world’s top tennis players after winning several international tennis tournaments and ranking number one from 2004 to 2008. This example shows that sports have great potential to offer career opportunities.

In summary, children whether they play sports seriously or for leisure brings positive effects. In my opinion, sports have great value in life and therefore should be promoted in the community.