Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, mobile phones play an indispensable part in children's lives. There are several causes behind this trend and personally, I believe this development brings more harm than good.

On the one hand, some relatable rationales can be anticipated for this phenomenon. The major one is entertainment devices could be extremely addictive and accessible as they contain a vast amount of interesting information. For instance, children spend at least 7 hours every day playing Minecraft, which is the most preferable game on smartphones. Further justifications might include erroneous parenting methods. Parents have to dedicate time to their work; hence, lacking time to monitor the number of hours children invest in smartphones.

On the other hand, there is a reason why I argue that this trend exerts a myriad of detrimental effects not only on the child's future but also society. Firstly, the more time allocated to mobile phones, the less time spent on doing outdoor activities. In the long run, this can form a sedentary lifestyle that affects both children's mental health as well as physical health. A concrete example of this is the green screen light result in visual impairment or down syndrome in children. More severe is the gradual creation of violent behaviors, which later turn into serious crimes such as murder or thief.

To conclude, some children spend hours daily on their mobile phones is a growing concern among parents. From my perspective, there are many causes and I claim that this is a harmful development with the aforementioned supporting ideas.