Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is a fact that children usually spend an excessive amount of time using their cell phones on a daily basis. There are various reasons behind this phenomenon and I personally think this has a negative impact on children.

To begin with, I assume that there are two main reasons why children waste too much time on their smartphones. The first reason is that smartphones can help them to entertain themselves via applications such as Facebook, Instagram, or YouTube. Due to the wide range of content on such applications, it is extremely easy for children to get addicted to them. Another reason is related to the responsibility of their parents. To be more specific, many parents allowed their off-springs to use cell phones at a very early age without any management. As a result, since the children are not aware of the deleterious effects of using smartphones, they would keep using them more and more.

I contend that the overuse of smartphones can lead to several detrimental effects. One of them is potential health problems, especially vision. In particular, since spending a long time staring at the screen can make children’s eyes tired and exhausted, they might be likely to suffer from short-sightedness or other eye problems in the future. Furthermore, children can also lose their relationships in real life. Despite the probability of them making friends on the Internet, all such connections are totally virtual and easy to be broken. When they go out into society, there would not many people want to be friends with a smartphone addict, which gradually makes them depressed and devastated.

In conclusion, there are a number of factors leading to the excessive

use of smartphones of children, including countless entertaining content and parents’ mismanagement. It seems to me that this trend is a negative development owing to the harmful influences it exerts on them.