Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones.

Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is widely believed that children are overusing their smartphones every day. This essay will point out the reasons for this problem and from my point of view, this is completely a negative development.

It is possible that this issue may be caused by a number of main factors. One of the prominent reasons concerning this problem is the indulgence and early permission to use this kind of smart device from the parents of the children. It is understandable and inevitable that these days, due to the requirement of the learning process, parents tend to allow their kids to get exposed early and quickly to digital products such as phones, and laptops so that their kids could be supported comprehensively. As a result, their teenagers have more chances to overuse these devices and to make their justifications if they receive any reminders. The second reason behind this could be the lack of supervision from the parental side. Nowadays, owning to the fact that parents have to deal with an enormous amount of workload not only at work but also at home as well as they tend to be occupied with their jobs so they often have no time left to supervise or take care of their teenagers. Furthermore, with the strong and global development of innovative technology, human lives are also influenced significantly by it. For example, children tend to use social media, and online games to be their relaxation and entertainment forms instead of going out there.

There are unquestionably a number of reasons why this is an adverse development for children. Firstly, the overuse of high-tech phones could give rise to the risk of getting mental health problems and illnesses. For instance, these are anxiety, depression, autism, and communication disorders. Following that, youngsters would experience a decline in their focus and efficiency in terms of study, social contact, and communication. Moreover, this could lead to a situation where teenagers depend excessively on smart devices when it comes to studying and examination. As a consequence, more seriously, their mindset and critical thinking skills could also be affected negatively.

In conclusion, there are primary factors contributing to the overuse of smartphones every day in children, including parental indulgence and the lack of control from the parental side. Despite certain benefits that smartphones can bring to teenager's lives, I am totally of the opinion that this is an adverse development.