Some cities have few control over design and construction on housing and office buildings. People think that they are free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In some cities, citizens are allowed to design and construct civil and residential buildings with little or no controls from the authorities. This trend can create a diverse landscape to the city. However, I think it does more harm than good to the city.

On the one hand, having the freedom to design and build houses and office buildings can nurture people’s creativity and constructing skills. The more people contribute their ideas and effort to build their own city, the more materials, colours and shapes we can see around that city. For example, there might be one extraordinary idea that ends up being an iconic landmark for the city like the Eiffel Tower in Paris. In additional, there will be many architectural styles applied around the city that make it an interesting tourist attraction. More tourists coming to the city means more money to the businesses.

On the other hand, the lack of control from the government over designing and constructing buildings brings some drawbacks. Firstly, people may not understand the differences between a living and a working place. They may ignore the safety standards in design and construction leading to critical accidents to the builders and the people living under the roof later. Secondly, people might invade space for roads and important projects such as schools, hospitals, police stations, etc.

In conclusion, building city freely is a great trend but it is harmful to the city without guidance from the authorities and experts in design and constructions. The government should encourage it but also put in place some measures and standards to maintain safety for the people and reserve the beauty of the city.