Some cities have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buildings. People think that they are free to choose the design they like. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s world of the construction boom, many buildings are encouraged to be built to improve the living quality of people and bring a bright face to the city. Many people argue that they have the right to choose the design and construct their houses freely. While there are some benefits that this trend can bring, I truly believe that its advantages are out shadowed by its disadvantages.

On the one hand, I concur that there are some merits when the government lets people freely build their houses. Firstly, it is true that homeowners and investors are those who fully understand their financial status and the purposes of the building so that they can design and construct it in the most appropriate and reasonable way. For example, a man who possesses a small plot of land may want to build on it a house with multiple floors in order to widen the living space. Secondly, the differences of buildings in a region can bring unique beauty to the area, and in some particular contexts, it can attract visitors and thus, boost the local tourism industry.

On the other hand, I am more convinced that this flexible control can provide individuals and society with tremendous negative effects. Firstly, I believe, in terms of design and construction, people usually cannot see the differences between a suitable building and a unique place to live. Therefore, they may neglect some safe standard in design and that may cause critical accidents for not only workers but also for people living under that roof later. Secondly, these buildings or houses may invade the spaces for some important public constructions such as roads, hospitals, airports, or even military bases. This will not only lead to unwanted destruction but also ruin the city overview.

In conclusion, although some benefits can be brought from this trend I truly believe that without sufficient guidance from authorities and experts, this freedom can certainly do harm to the city