Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some cities, people are encouraged to use public transportation instead of private ones on vehicle-free days. In my opinion, this policy brings more advantages than disadvantages.

Regarding environmental effects, It is true that the amount of toxic gas released from vehicles, such as private cars, trucks, and motorcycles annually can damage severely the atmosphere, therefore leading to numerous health problems. By designing vehicle-free days and promoting public vehicles, the government could reduce the number of harmful emissions and alleviate the consequences on the environment. Although It takes effort to ensure that everyone could access public transportation, The cumulative effects of this scheme on the environment are huge, hence it is worth enacting vehicle-free days on large scale.

Another main advantage of having vehicle-free days and banning certain means of transport is to reduce traffic jams. Too many vehicles commuting on a title unit can cause traffic jams, which often lead to drivers’ frustration, accidents, and interrupting some special vehicles doing their work, such as ambulances or fire trucks. In addition, people might suffer from several respiratory diseases by absorbing polluted gas for a long time. To cope with this serious issue, some cities have banned private vehicles and encouraged their citizens to use public transportation, and it was proven to bring huge benefits. It can be seen that countries having developed bus or metro systems show fewer traffic jams than those in developing and undeveloped countries.

In conclusion, enacting a vehicle-free day is an effective method to protect the environment. Although this requires people to change their daily travel habits by giving up private vehicles and using public transportation instead, I believe that the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages, thus government should implement it as a key solution to reduce the severe damage resulting from vehicles.