• Task 2: Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are vehicle-free days in some metropolises when private transportations is prohibited from the city center. Instead of that, public transport is advisable. Although this phenomenon brings disadvantages, I think the benefit is more significant.

Admittedly, vehicle-free days have a negative impact on traffic and participants’ traffic. Firstly, the prohibition of private transportations hinders citizens when they get to the city center. If they use public vehicles, it is less comfortable as buses or taxis are usually crowded because of the high volume of people going to the center. Besides, travelling by public transportations is more time-consuming because you must follow the time in advance. Secondly, the outskirts are more likely to have traffic jams on vehicle-free days. To be more specific, when private vehicles are limited in the center, they tend to choose an alternative way in the outskirts and the sharp escalation of traffic flows lead to the congestion.

However, the merits overwhelm the negative effects. The first advantage is that the encouragement of public transports can notably diminish CO2 emission. Hence, it is beneficial to the environment, avoids the ‘greenhouse effect’ and the quality of air improving facilitates better conditions for society health. The second one is vehicle-free days create a ventilated space for other society activities due to the disappearance of private vehicles. Thanks to that, people and the government can organize some festivals, games and so on. For example, in Hanoi, vehicles are banned in streets around HoanKiem lake on the weekends and there are dance or sing performances, games, marathon matches and events, which attracts not only residents but also foreign visitors.

In conclusion, vehicle-free days have both negative and positive impact but its merit is more remarkable.