Some people believe that schools should teach foreign languages to primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is ongoing debate whether teaching foreign learning languages should be adopted in primary education. Although some argue this pratice has a negative effect, learning another language in secondary school, in opinion, should be encouraged due to a wide range of benefits it bring to children. In this essay, I will explain why the advantages of this policy outweight the disadvangtages.

On one hand, people believe that primary school children’s limited abilities unable them to learn languages effectively. Children start exposing to their mother tongue comprehensively when entering primary school, and learning another language alongside could lead to language disorder. Because of insuffiecient vocabulary and grammar, children usually struggle to present their ideas thoroughly to other people consequently, some children find mixed language is an effective solution to address this language problem. While this can be practical approach to stimulate children's response to language, Abusing this method in the long could makes children find it difficult to using languages independently on their daily lives as well as when accessing complicated learning materials that using only one language.

Despites several disadvantages , I suppose that suitable teaching methods can tackle this issue, for example, schools should prioritize teach native language for children before displaying other languages sessions, implying that removing foreign languages from children’s curriculum is unnecessary. In fact, primary school children should be taught foreign language as at an such early age, they are likely to be more confident and willing to explore new things, therefore learning languages fasters and using languages more naturally compared to adults who are ussually afraid making language errors, feeling under pressure and stress of their language skills which will ultimately hinder their ability to learn language. In addition, children can have the chance to expose to different culture and customs in all other parts of the world, hence broadening their horizons. This can be explained by interaction between children and native teachers through lessons that school environment offer them.

In conclusion, there is a drawback derive from learning foreign language in primary school, however I believe this is not a major concerns since appropriate measures can be taken to restrict its negative effects. adopting other languages modules, in contrast, has been proved to have beneficial implications for children. For those reasons, the advantages of this education policy, in generall, outweight the disadvantages.