Some claim that studying abroad has great benefits for a student’s home country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the need for the acquisition of unconventional or innovative knowledge, there is a tendency among learners to acquire international study leading to an increased desire to study abroad. Although this is why some people claim that home-country may significantly take advantage of those studying in other countries, I strongly believe this is not the case because it is unrealistic and not all exchange students will choose to return to their country

Very few foreign innovations can be applied in students’ home countries on account of the lack of operational machines. The operations of machines and experimental engines in each country are hardly equivalent to what a student has studied in their host country unless they have imported exactly the same machines as that place. Consequently, some experiments cannot be re-conducted with a similar result to the original one. Indeed, a college in Vietnam appointed its scholars to the US in order to study the mechanism of a computer-controlled device to track nonlinear lines. They, however, could not recreate an identical one until they had disbursed on a particular system. This is one reason a country may not fully utilize the knowledge taken from abroad.

Moreover, some countries are now experiencing a loss of young talents. With the seek for skillful graduates and employees, many countries, especially developed ones, begin to advertise their desire to employ and support highly-educated non-native students to continue their learning journey there. Additionally, a considerable number of learners would be likely to get the impression of such a policy, leading to brain drain in their home countries. Taking Vietnam for example, many of its students have left the country to learn and work globally because of the great amount of salary that the other country offers them to stay and work. Not only do students refuse to turn back to their country, but they also devote themselves to that country.

In conclusion, students studying internationally does not necessarily mean the home country can fully utilize their knowledge and it may take its toll on brain drain. I definitely disagree that homeland can substantially benefit from the skills and information from these studying-abroad learners.