Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The concept of sponsoring sport as a way to advertize has become quite popular lately among companies. Many people state that it is for the good of the world of sports while others against and give out drawbacks. While there are still contradictions regarding the topic, which will be further covered in this essay, I would argue that it is better if companies were to continue sponsoring sports as to marketing themselves.

One of the biggest reasons why people think that there are disadvantages might be simply due to the fact that money involves. Simply put, money is the key factor that affects and takes away core values of sports. When Nike sponsored Michael Jordan, for instance, Nike’s aim was to advertize themselves by adressing this legendary player to wear their most sophisticated shoes ever. As a result, these shoes became catwalk fashion shoes rather than normal performance shoes to play in. Therefore, money could be a key element contributing to the disadvantages.

On the other hand, some individuals believe that it is good for the world of sports, and I too agree, simply because it brings sports closer to people through the products of a specific company. Many of us initially do not play sports but rather than colleting and showcasing the essentials, which will eventually raise the passion in a certain kind of sport. Take Andrew for example, who is a youtuber and a shoe collector. He is not a basketball player, but the passion in showcasing beautiful sneakers drives him into a professional street baller. This results in a vast amount of people become more involve in sports. Therefore, sponsoring should take place between sports and companies.

In conclusion, the pros outweighs the cons when sports under taken sponsorships from companies, which will bring more and more people to take part in the sport they enjoy.