Many companies sponsor sports as a way for advertising themselves. Some people think it is good for the world of sports, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Many people adopt a view that advertisement is the key factor that leads to a successful sports match. However, others fiercely oppose that it ruins the quality and initial purpose in terms of sports matches. Personally speaking, I am of the opinion that merits and dismerits of this debate are in equal measures for some particular rationales below.

On the bright side, sports commercial brings about many outstanding benefits which enables audiences to have the best experience. Free football or tennis matches on TV or on any social platforms are broadcast for everyone thanks to a huge budget sponsored by advertising companies. By the same token, sports organization can afford a larger pitch or court that allows a remarkable number of spectators to take part in. What is more, sports players are also equipped with more advanced facilities, thereby reducing the chances of injuries and boosting their spirits to the peak. To cite a good example of avertising sponsorship, VAR- a piece of modern technology sponsored by commercial companies which is currently introduced to be a reliable assistance in every football match, has proved its incredible effectiveness in increasing the fairness of all the scores.

On the dark side, it is inevitable that this kind of advertisements induce a host of considerable problems to both sports fan and players themselves. To be more specific, a sudden advertisement during a match will not only interrupt the rhythm of the tie but also diverge attention of the players, which can result in losing concentration and in the worst-case scenario, a loss of the whole team. In addition, enormous banners and irritating brochures also disturb the spectators’experience. Therefore, the pure purpose of sports is overshadowed by a commercial one. In a current case of Heineiken in EURO 2020 happening a few months ago, although their beverage is absolutely not good for health, especially for sports atheletes, it appeared in almost every corner of the stadium which sadly annoyed Paul Pogba and as a result, he had to remove it because of its bad effects for both people’s health and the competition as well.

To conclude, with some pronounced reasons represented, I believe that even though sports advertisements are necessary, sports organizers should take effects of each product into consideration before deciding to let it appear in an official event.