In some companies, a typical working week has been reduced to 30 hours. Do the advantages outweigh the demerits?

A reduction of working weekly time to 30 hours impacts several firms experiencing low incomes and a quality decline of product. However, the cons are more influence than the pros.

Positively, the demerit of working of 30 hours in a week for companies is to increase workers productivity due to more sleeping time. Nevertheless, the demerit is more detrimental because of experiencing a profit decline since the firms cannot achieve sales targets. For example, In 2018, PT. Erigo from Indonesia could not sell 12000 pieces in a year. Even though the design of the products was well-known as a result that the labors became more productive, not suffering sleep deprivation anymore, the cost production was about one billion rupiahs, being higher than the earned money at a half of the rupiahs spent.

Furthermore, working 30 hours in companies in seven days is the positive way to reduce work stress because employers have great family time. Nonetheless, the side effect is more negative, which the budget of workers’ salaries is bigger than allocation of machine maintenance to enhance goods’ quality, receiving complaint from customers. For instance, in 2020, PT. Sampoerna’s labors should be paid 2,5 million rupiahs per individual in a month, when this manufacturer focused on employee’s salary more than the money for fixing the tobacco maker machines at 1,5 million rupiahs, resulting that rarely were impurities cleaned, then it affected the taste of cigars decreasing, and buyers complained about the cigarettes. Therefore, this weekly typical activities in a work place bring more bad influences instead of good ones.

In conclusion, 30-hour workweek reveals more weighty disadvantages than the advantages for companies, witnessing profits shrunk and low quality of products. To avoid the demerits, firms have to calculate the outcome based on employers’ payment.