Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

Some nations focus on providing sporting facilities to the general layman, others decide their resources are better well spent on the creme de la creme of the top athletes they produce. Either the approaches possess certain advantages, but I can see how easily accessible institutions could benefit the population as a whole and I will outline my reasonings as follows.

On the one hand, ensuring that the elite sportspersons are put into focus is defintely essential for the overall success of the nation at an international stage. All the laurels which come with an olympic medal, or perhaps a world cup are a source of great pride for the people of a nation. Just in recent months, we were able to witness how a nation and its spirits are uplifted by achieving success at the highly coveted FIFA word cup. Argentina as a nation has been suffering these days, but a win by Messi's men in Qatar lifted the spirits of the troubled people. Had the footballers not been taken care of and helped in honing their skills, this win would have proved to be impossible.

On the other hand, not focusing enough on the lion's share of the population can leave you without otherwise gems of future stars and potential all time greats only because they could not recieve crucial training at a basic level. I think, not only does this deprive everybody from the opportunity to lead a healthy lifestyle and benefit from the monies they give in taxes, but also deprives us of future Usain Bolts and Michael Phelps. Messi was discovered only when Spanish scouts observed him playing youth football at the facilities of Newell's Old Boys akin to any other facility open to the public, reiterating the importance of common sports areas.

In conclusion, athlete specific training areas and public facilities both have their respective places in a sports loving nation, but in my opinion the latter is instrumental in securing a steady crop of future talents not to mention the countless health benefits for the general population and also the role they play in increasing awareness about sports and a healthy lifestyle.