Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

In modern civilisation, there is a fact that several nations construct specific buildings to master elite athletes’ skills rather than give public sports facilities’ provisions. From my perspective, I concur that this phenomenon could result in both beneficial and detrimental effects.

It is undeniable that governments could set up infrastructure specialisation for skilled trainees. That is because their potential can be maximised through those facilities so that they could acquire desirable achievements in international competitions. For instance, in Vietnam, national football stadiums have been built like Ba Dinh for professional guidance to players to discover their best abilities and alleviate weaknesses. From these stadiums, iconic footballers have been created, such as Hung Dung, Tien Linh, etc.

On the other hand, this propensity could trigger numerous drawbacks. Firstly, a budget concentration on sports’ special constructions to train sports stars would lead to a shortage in financial expenditure on community sports facilities. When this trend continues, citizens could not have access to open sports areas, which results in a sedentary lifestyle with deteriorating health conditions. Furthermore, a scarcity of public sports accommodation could also awaken people’s innate possibilities related to sports. Citizens would have difficulties searching for sports infrastructure; thus, they may not find proper sites to practise their sports skills. Thus, talents who could achieve notable advances in sports might not be discovered, and that would be a serious loss for the country.

In conclusion, while there are some upsides of building specific land for top athletes, I hold a firm belief that it could result in many downsides.