Some countries are struggling with an increase in crime rates. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Crime is prevalent in many countries, with the developing nations feeling the brunt of it. People argue that policing increased policing on the streets could curb the surge in criminal activity. However, I partially agree with this and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay.

First of all, let us look at the argument for policing on the street. Whilst it is necessary, we need to understand that the reason people turn to crime, is because of the lack of resources, fewer opportunities to get jobs, and inability to afford basic requirements. Therefore, the lure of instant money provided by crime helps to convince people to take this road. So, for starters, the government’s should do their part and improve living conditions for their citizens and this may help to curtail crime.

The advancement of technology has led to more crime, because now criminals have adopted technology and are using it to perpetrate major crimes. For example, a couple of months ago, Russian cyber gangs targeted major corporations demanding $70 million in Bitcoin. Now the issue with cybercrime, is that hackers have found ingenious ways to mask their identity so as not to get caught. The only thing that is known after 3 months of these attacks, is that the attackers are from Russia. Who they are and their exact location remains unknown.

In this day and age, crime is happening both, online and on the streets, and strict policing needs to be done on both platforms to try and stop this increase in crime.