Some people think that universities should not provide so much theoretical knowledge but give more practical training throughout their courses. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, more attention has been placed on the opinion that university students should experience more practical training rather than merely acquire academic knowledge. Personally, I totally support this viewpoint for the following reasons.

To commence with, only giving theoretical lessons may decrease student’s interest in the major. It is due to the fact that theoretical lectures only require reading, listening and writing which is a repeated and boring process. As a result, many students are unwilling to attend these classes enthusiastically and voluntarily. Moreover, if universities solely have theory-based method of educating, students may not need to attend higher education because they feel that they can find and read these documents themselves at home.

In addition, practical training during the courses will be helpful for students in their later life. It is because these classes provide students with chances to speak, to discuss and to apply their own understanding to actively tackle a problem. When experiencing with their own ability and solutions with a basic knowledge background, they may find it easier to acquire the knowledge given. Furthermore, this helps these students to get accustomed to real-life situations so that they are able to solve better when facing similar ones in their later life. For example, surgical students should have a chance to observe a real operation and to practice on their own after attending theoretical lessons. This helps prevent them from fumbling and making minor but lethal mistakes when working in such a professional place as a hospital.

To conclude, it is true that students should not be given too much theoretical lectures due to their lengthy and boring essence. Rather, I believe that students, when fully equipped with practical skills in university, will perform better in their future job.