In some countries around the world, men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Agreeable to the order of the day, in many countries the world over, people are interested in giving birth to a child at a later age in their lives. This tendency is mainly because of giving preference to career establishment and getting state-of-the-art medical treatments. However, having children late in life has both positive and negative repercussions.

The cogent reason for taking children in the middle age rather than in the early stage is the desire to settle in the work-life. To be more precise, in this day and age, both men and women want to do a job in order to show their hidden talents and boost their career prospects, leaving them to give less time in fulfilling the responsibilities towards their families. Therefore, they make a decision to have a child while they will settle in their career and budget enough time for bringing up. As well as that, up-to-date technologies in the medical sector make it possible to give birth to a child at any age of life. To cite an example, down to having IVF treatment facilities, the Indian women are having children at the age of 40, resulting in focusing more time on building careers.

Bringing children in the later stage of life has mixed impacts on society and family life. For a start, the economy of a state would boost dramatically when all individuals focus on changing the fate and face of their down-and-out situations. In other words, it would not possible to bring prosperity to a nation provided that all citizens do not become an industrious and focused workforce. For instance, Singapore has become a developed state only when all males and females started to work together in 1980. On the contrary, when a family gives birth to a child in middle age, there exists a huge age difference between parents and child, creating problems for both parents and children to mingle with each other. In this situation, children’s mental growth may be hampered.

In conclusion, due to giving priority to careers and having advanced medical treatments, individuals are having children late in life that engenders prosperity in the economy but creates distance between parents and their offspring.