In some countries around the world men and women are having children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In contemporary society, couples are inclined to suspend parenthood and give birth to children later than people of previous generations did in the past. This essay will present an overview of causes and potential influences to it.

Firstly, it is worthy that the pressure of fierce competition is widely perceived as the main reason. Nowadays, many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, with the growth of academic qualifications and stiff competition at working places, young people are afflicted with busy working schedules on every workday, leading to have less time for personal life, including having children. Secondly, another factor that added fuel to the fire is the increasing development of medical services. According to researches, in the past couples chose to give birth early to solve the risk of decreased fertility and minimize health problems simultaneously. Nowadays, couples can delay parenthood and spend time on careers thanks to modern services of technological devices. For example, couples of previous generations are being parenthood at 20-30 years old, which suitable for wife's health; however, now people give birth at over 35 year-old to concentrate on career path.

In evaluating its impact, it is important to take potential consequences on society and family into account. From economic perspective, it would alarmingly cause influences on the sustainability of macro-economic performances because of the low fertility rates. For instance, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, the popularity of low birth rates have been proportional to the young labor crisis, affecting seriously economic growth. From the view of family unity, double income families where both parents are bread-winners are more increasingly popular, ideological conflicts and gap generation are common between parents and children. As a result, they seldom have bonding time to build good rapports.

In conclusion, fierce competition and modern technologies are the main reasons, which have chronic negative effects on society and family as mentioned above.