In some countries around the world men and women are having children at a later age than in the past. What are the reasons for this development? What are the effects on society and family life?

In contemporary society, couples are inclined to suspend parenthood and give birth to children later than people of previous generations did in the past. This essay will present an overview of causes and potential influences to this phenomenon.

Firstly, the pressure of fierce competition is widely perceived as the main reason. Many sociological studies have shown that although it is invisible, with the growth of academic qualifications and stiff competition in working places, young people are afflicted with busy working schedules on every workday, leading to having less time for personal life, including having children. Secondly, another factor that has added fuel to the fire is the increasing development of modern technologies. According to reasearches, in the past, women chose to give birth early to solve the risk of decreased fertility and potential health problems to babies. Nowadays, couples can delay parenthood by using medical services with modern devices to spend time on careers and minimize health problems simultaneously. For example, couples are being parenthood at 20-30 year-old, which suitable for the wife’s health; however, due to the stiff competition, now couples are having children at over 35 years old.

In evaluating its impact, it is important to take potential consequences on family and society into account. From economic perspective, it would cause alarmingly impacts on the sustainability of macro-economic performances because of low fertility rates. For instance, according to the survey conducted by BBC News, low birth rates have been proportional to young labor crisis, seriously affecting economic growth. From the view of family unity, double income families where both parents are bread-winners are more increasingly popular, ideological conflicts and gap generation are common between parents and children. As a result, they seldom have bonding time to build good rapports.

In conclusion, fierce competition and technological devices are the main reasons, which have negative influences on society and family as mentioned above.