In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Some nations have seen an increase in the average weight of their citizens as well as a significant deterioration in their fitness level and health status. The main cause of this phenomenon is the lack of balance between the dietary intake and level of regular physical activities, and a viable solution is to improve public awareness on the need to maintain an equilibrium between what they eat and the activities they do.

The dynamics of recent times have caused a shift in the calorie content of food ingested and the activities performed in an inverse manner. Despite the dietary modification seen in most meals consumed nowadays, which are of high energy content, there is an incidental rise in sedentary lifestyles. People consume more energy-giving food and they expend less energy. The excess calorie from this imbalance is converted to fat, which is responsible for the weight increase seen in people. For instance, most grandparents consumed more vegetables and were involved in farming activities which take up their strength in the past. However, with job automation and the ease of accomplishing tasks, less energy is used despite increase calorie content.

In order to solve this predicament, striking a balance between energy generated from consumed food and energy spent on activities is very pertinent. This can be done by increasing publicity of this imbalance, highlighting the mechanism of adding weight in the layman’s term and laying emphasis on the need to do more exercise and eat less calorie content food. Most people are oblivious to this change. To illustrate, health promotion and education has been proven to be tools that can be used to modify the lifestyle of a population.

To conclude, it is high time the public become aware of this worrying overweight menace as well as the poor health status which emerge mainly from an imbalance between what they eat and the inactive lifestyles in vogue. Doing this will not only bring to the fore this problem but also show them the need to ensure there is an equilibrium between these two opposing forces.