In some countries, if people need to find work, they have to move away from their families and their friends. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In several regions in the world, numerous people have to travel far away from their family to acquire a job. In my opinion on this matter, the disadvantages are more visible than the advantages for two reasons. In this essay, I will discuss the cause of why people work far from home as well as the reason why I think that this fact may do more harm than good.

First of all, people need to move away from their family to work because not that all areas share the same amount of job opportunity as well as the salary level. Usually there are less job variation to choose in the countryside than in the city; therefore, countless people have moved to the city to pursuit their career. For instance, Hanoi, being the capital city of Vietnam, had witnessed a rise of 1.6 million people in its population in 10 years, from 2009 to 2019, as a result of people moving in to seek study and job chances. Moreover, the salary level in more developed countries is usually higher than that of developing countries, and the number has attracted a lot of workers to obtain a job overseas. One typical example is that there are about 10000 Vietnamese workers doing various job in Japan because of the high wages this country can offer.

Personally speaking, this matter triggers demerits rather than merits. Firstly, this moving trend may pose a great burden on local authorities and also for residents of big cities. More people means more facilities such as work places, schools, hospitals, road system need to be built and maintained, not to mention that the enormous traffic loads and jams will probably result in air pollution.

Secondly, people living far from home cannot avoid feeling lonely and less attached to their family. Expatriates have no one to take care of them in case of illness as well as they cannot do the same even if their family member faces fatal ailments. Their kids may grow up without a parent, which is scientifically proven to be not good for children development.

In conclusion, there are obviously reasons why people leave their family to pursuit a job. However, this results in more drawbacks than benefits.