In some countries, if people need to find work, they have to move away from their families and their friends. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, more and more people sacrifice the chance to live near their families and friends to relocate for work. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this trend, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are a number of drawbacks when people move away from their families and friends to find jobs. The first drawback is that people may be forced to accept low-paid work and exploitation of labor and a working environment that is dangerous. For example, migrant workers from undeveloped countries with limited language abilities have no choice except to do manual labor from 12 to 16 hours per day in factories or farms without any occupational safety and health. Another drawback is that people who live far from their families and friend are easier to experience mental health problems than others. Physical distance discourages migrant workers from sharing their problems with their beloved ones; therefore, they tend to suffer from troubles on their own. Consequently, they are more vulnerable to mental health issues, such as depression, while their families remain unknown.

On the other hand, I believe that benefits are more significant than disadvantages. Firstly, moving to bigger cities or countries which are the center of large industries opens more new career opportunities and significantly higher wages. Workers may have enough money for their lives and to send money home to their families. Secondly, migrant workers can advance their careers faster than people who live with their families. Because of living far from families and friends, they do not suffer from family conflicts or friends’ arguments which could negatively influence their productivity and work performance. Thus, young people can wholeheartedly devote their time and effort to their work.

To sum up, I would argue that moving away from families and friends for work opportunities brings more benefits than drawbacks.