Fewer young people do farming work in rural areas. Why? Should young people be encouraged to do farming work?

Nowadays, as numerous parts of the world are developing and gradually becoming urbanized, there are more and more job opportunities and career paths for young people to pursuit, which leads to a fact that there are fewer youngster choose to work as a farmer in rural areas. This matter clearly has some reasons to it; however, personally speaking, I think that the youth should be encouraged to do farming work.

First of all, farmer is becoming a less attractive work choice due to its strenuous manual labor. Farming requires a lot of time outside to plough, sow seeds, water, harvest, which involves a significant amount of physical work. Moreover, farming also depends mostly on weather. If the weather is not favorable, draughts or storms can wipe out the entire field as well as all the farmer's hard work, not to mention that working on the field under the scorching heat or in the cold is really demotivating. One research showed that more than 3 million of cattle died on account of heat and draught in 2018 in North Korea

Being a laborious work as it may seem, farming should be promoted among young people for two reasons. Firstly, as the world population is increasing rapidly, meaning more people need provisions while less workers provide it, food shortage can become an alarming issue in the future. Secondly, food wasting is another stinging problem on earth, and it could be reduced by raising the awareness of young people about food making process through farming work. By experiencing the hard work to produce staples, youngster may respect and value food more, thus reduce food waste.

In brief, there are several reason why young people do not prefer farming as a career; however, they should be encouraged to adopt this work.