In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent decades, there have been a vigorous debate whether governments need to levy more heavily on fast food due to the substantial growth of diet-related diseases such as obesity, heart attack, etc. Although imposing higher tax constitutes a decent remedy to discourage people from eating such foods, there are a rich variety of different methods in order to handle this problems.

To begin with, if the governments push taxes on junk food, companies manufacturing these will have to rise the costs of products, which gradually make it unaffordable to some social classes, especially the unfortunate one. In fact, Mexico government has just imposed a significant new tax on fast food and sugery drink that is considered as a triumph for the anti-obesity crusade as it rapidly minimizes the related illnesses. Besides, the budget brought back is not only used in addressing the deceases that fast food holds accountable for but also led to subsidies on nutritious vegetables and fruits. Overall, it can be observed that pushing tax can positively get exposed to the social in fighting against fast food and involving repercussions, yet just to a minor social component.

In order to completely slash junk food consumption, It is obviously essential to directly influence citizens’ awareness. For instance, since Japan government has applied “Health” into the curriculum, Japanese people, even young-aged children consciously adopt healthy victuals. Hence, education is inclined to take priority so that people can immune to a multitude of fascinating fast food advertisements. It’s apparent that advertisements show out images of desirable food that somewhat stimulate people’s appetite. Thus, to strictly ensure, governments should ban fast food advertisements in schools or educational complex.

In conclusion, junk food constitutes the driving force of high incidence of diet-related diseases; hence, governments extremely attempt to cut consumption on fast food by pushing taxes. However, I reckon education and forbidden fast food advertisements should be taken into consideration.