In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food.It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays fast food plays an essential role in people’s life. Whether the government should make the tax of them higher or not is a hot issue. I believe a higher tax are able to efficiently control the purchase of fast food and make the public healthier.

On the one hand, people can hardly control themselves when face seduction, hence the government’s help is necessary. Nowadays, due to the convenience and tastiness of fast food, they have been increasingly eaten by people. In fact, the reason why these food are convenient is that they have been prepared in advance and have lost the freshness. Furthermore, in order to maintain the excellent taste of the food, there are always numerous harmful additives in them, which could leads to a wide range of diseases. Therefore, it is necessary for the government to do their part to control the purchase of fast food by imposing a higher tax.

On the other hand, with more and more citizens suffering health problems caused by the unhealthy diet, the labor market will be influenced negatively. It seems that once people increasingly go to hospital to treat their diseases because of eating too much fast food, those who make efforts to work would be less and less, which will cause detrimental consequences to the quality of labor market. Apparently, the responsibility rests with the government to take steps to rise the tax to make the citizens healthier, so the quality of national labor market could be guaranteed to some degree.

To summarize, if the government could impose a higher tax, the public will reduce the eating of fast food and will benefit a lot not only the people’s health condition, but also the labor market of a country.