In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are an increasing number of people who are excessively consuming fast foods causing fatal diseases. To solve this issue, the desperate measure should be sought. I believe that the government should not impose tax on fast food because this food is the main food source for low income earners. Therefore, I completely disagree with this proposal.

It is a fact that there are an increasing number of people consuming excessive amount of fast foods and the result would be the fatal health issues. Since fast food is full of chemical substances, it can cause several health diseases that can be fatal to people such as cancer, diabetes, tumor and Alzheimer. Therefore, the optimal and effective solution should be planted to tackle this issue.

Imposing higher taxes on fast food can reduce the excessive consumption and can maintain people’s health diet. For example, McDonald’s burger price increased from $2.45 to $12.45 after junk food taxation, people will eat somewhere else. This will definitely reduce people’s consumption and people can re-consider of their choice on fast food before purchasing. Hence, higher taxation can solve the fast food consumption effectively.

In contrast, this higher price on food can restrict a lower income earner’s daily meal. Even in developed countries there are a lot of people who are still suffering from hunger and poverty, the fast foods are the main meal for them. If the government imposes taxes to increase the price, all those people will face the difficulty to survive. Majority of population are categorized as low income earner brackets and the increasing in fast food price. Thus, the government should not restrict the main food source for low income earners by imposing tax.

In conclusion, there are growing trend of eating fast food in some countries and this is considered to be an issue due to it relates to the health of people. Higher taxation on fast food seems to be the possible solutions for the government to control people’s eating habit. Imposing of taxation can be considered as cutting the food source for low income earners because fast foods are the main food for many low income earners. Therefore, government should not impose taxes.