In some countries, many people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, more and more people are choosing to be single, especially in metropolitan areas. In highly developed countries, the rate is even higher, and seems like this has become quite normal here. I believe that this trend has more negative effects than the few positive outcomes it offers.

First, the single-person family is seen to have fewer financial bills than the others. Since there is only one person who is using the electricity and the water, the amount of money he has to pay seems to be much lower. As a result, there will be fewer economic problems, which is a huge trouble in some other families. Moreover, when a person is living independently, there will be more basic skills which he will cover. Daily skills including cooking, cleaning the house, adopting hobbies, and managing personal finance are essential, these can not only help him being more self-dependent but also has a greater impact on the development of the country.

However, the trend of increasing single-person families has many negative consequences. As there is only one family member, he might have to suffer from some psychological problems such as anxiety or depression. Unlike the traditional families where you can share stress and sadness between members, there is unlikely anyone for the single-member to share their feelings. The isolation often leads people to a negative lifestyle, they might as well rely on drugs and some of them become addicted. The human is a social being and living alone is against their natural tendency. For many, bearing the total expenses is tough and this leads them to get involved in crimes, which can be a huge problem for society.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits of choosing to live alone, the disadvantages it brings are far worse.