In some countries, many people suffer from health problems due to eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

Do you agree or disagree?

In many countries, people’s healths are at risk because of eating too much junk food; therefore, it is necessary that governments should impose a higher tax on this kind of food. I firmly agree with this idea because levying a higher rate of tax on fast food will limit the customers’ consumption and money from taxing can also be invested in nutrition’s education.

Firstly, levying a more expansive tariff on fast-food industry will reduce in overall customers’ consumptions. This is because the more expansive the tax is, the higher product cost is, and leading to less people be able to pay for this meal. Instead of buying fast food, people will be much cheaper but containing higher nutritrional value foods, like fishes, vegetables and meats. For example, Vietnam government has already imposed high taxes on fast-food industry to decrease the consuming of this type of food. Therefore, from 2010 to 2024, less children and adults eat junk food than ever, and the country’s healths are improving in a positive trend.

Secondly, money from junk-food’s taxes can use in a more meaningful way, such as raising awareness about nutrition. Most people eat junk food because of its convenience and addicted favour; so they care less about its nutritional values and long-term health’s consequences. By this way, more and more people suffer health’s risks later in life, such as obesity and heart attack. However, this triger issue can be solve if goverments use money from imposing fast-food industry’s taxes to educate people about nutrition and risk when they consume fast food regurlary. For instance, many schools in Vietnam have already teach children about what kind of food they should eat and what shouldn’t. Therefore, many children have given up take-away foods, such as pizza, hamburger and soft drinks, by choosing healthier options instead.

In conclusion, I totally agree that junk food should be levied a higher tax to reduce the amount of consumption and raise people’s awareness about nutritional values to improve everyone’s health.