Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of economic development, some individuals claim that we ought to destroy historic structures and construct new ones instead of spending too much money on maintaining and restoring these existing structures. From my point of view, I do completely agree with this statement.

On the one hand, in place of erecting the new buildings, we should maintain the ancient ones preserving the long-standing history and valuable cultural heritage. In other words, no one could deny that there is a close correlation between many memorable buildings and the cultural identity of a nation. Furthermore, it is true that historic structures may be regarded as tourist attractions generating a significant amount of revenue for the tourism industry. For instance, Hoi An Ancient Town is one of the places that attracts the most tourists annually, famous for its houses with bold ancient architecture. Besides, it is a matter of fact that the teaching of national literature and history from ancient buildings in person is one of an effective way to enhance greatly insight into the cultural merits, historical information and traditional norms in a vivid and lively way.

On the other hand, demolishing downgraded and substandard old buildings is an advantageous strategy. With the fast-paced nature of modern existence, besides the increasing demands for dwellings due to population explosion, the necessity of modern office buildings which not only meet the demand for a large number of people to work efficiently, but also contribute to creating a beautiful landscape for the nation is higher day by day. Along with globalization, cutting-edge architecture may leave a deeper impression on overseas business partners that results in encouraging international cooperation as well as promoting the development of our economy. In addition, with the exception of conserving historic qualities, remarkable and innovative buildings may also play an important role in tourism development attempts..For example, the iconic Landmark 81, one of the highest structures in Southeast Asia, can evoke curiosity for tourists and become a landmark earning much money for the government.

In conclusion, to achieve long-term growth, I believe that the national budget should be allocated equally to preserving old structures and erecting new ones.