In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In many parts of the world , the number of people who are curious about their own property’s past stories is on the increase. The longing to unearth the record of homes could be attributed to a plethora of contributory factors, in this essay I will elaborate the reasons and ways for people to delve into this topic.

The pursuit of unearthing a house’s past tends to be shaped by several motives, one of which is to serve time to come preservation or restoration purposes, should houses being built centuries ago, premises can not evaluate the ground quality and what lies underneath their property, therefore before their places of residence are in a state of dilapidation, occupants need to uncover any special architectural features that may affect their future repairs and alterations. Landowners have to closely scrutinize their grounds owing to the fact that land’s quality is a crucial determinant on how tall the building could be, within the decision for the house's materials. For instance, the softer the ground the harder it is needed to reinforce the foundation; otherwise, after a long timespan houses will stand on the verge of collapsing, another justification is how fundamental it is to find soft spots on the land before constructing for proper reinforcement steel pole placement. More specifically, the desire to uncover hidden secrets or stories is another driving force for the urge to probe into their property’s background, rooting out a property’s history can open up the realm of other possibilities when it comes to fact and information. For example, in some countries it is forbidden to have infrastructure on agriculture lands or lands that have been through farming practices due to the moisturization making dirts become softer. Also, it is commonly seen as buildings that have been through alterations by different premises could hide mysteries, various cases around the world have found that their pre built home could in fact consist of a hidden compartment.

From my perspective, people who yearn to survey their neighbors in various forms such as handing out questionnaires or creating online forms to gather information. To be specific, handing out questionnaires, which would in turn help landowners accumulate long gone stories that only the seniors will know, these information tend to be passed along through generation and neighborhood and not mentioned in the area’s directory, namely, urban legends or horror stories. What is more, they could search for online databases such as www.tracemyhouse.com or www.findmypast.co.uk, as well as visiting local libraries to find archives and directory about their home, these will provide premises with details of sales, boundary plans, previous owners or its taxation records. On top of that, maps can be utilized to discover the latest revamp on the local land, even though it is difficult to find maps of different timelines, it is still worthwhile for ones that are curious to unearth the building’s history.

In sum, people’s desire to sift through their habitant’s past stories derives from various determinants and my contention is that they could do so by deeply digging the internet for information or survey the local areas.