Some people feel that cities should allow for spaces for graffiti while others feel it should be banned. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that graffiti should be prohibited, while others assume it should be permitted and provided spaces by local authorities. This view carries out both arguments which I will elaborate in the ensuing paragraphs.

On the one side, opponents of supporting spaces for graffiti believe that painted art in preserved buildings without concept might damage and prompt loss of their values. The heritages have detailed maintenance to protect the originality. It is evident that spray painting in the several historical sites in Bandung requires high cost for property owners to vanish the artworks. Furthermore, graffiti is identical with spreading hate speech and provocative designs so called vandalism. The more insulting the drawings are made, the greater opportunities the conflict will explode in the surrounding area. For instance, vandalism in Bengaluru leads to chaos and anarchy, engendering public panic.

On the other side, supporters of this view argue that graffiti represents the progress of modern art in the cities showing that the local amateur artists can express their current artworks interpreting rapid globalisation. Not only high technique but also innovativeness are expected to create brilliant contemporary artwork. Moreover, drawings on public walls can be an iconic place and attract international tourists. Apparently, the rate of numerous visitors is able to boost economic growth generated by tourism and increase the regional revenue. For instance, Nottingham Underpass is legal spaces for graffiti, thus, various designs are shown along the street and fascinate travellers all over the world.

To sum up, even though this issue seems more beneficial to some points, it seems to me that providing spaces for graffiti by the government brings more drawbacks. Those include damage of preserved buildings and delivering humiliating speech.