In some countries the number of people using bicycle as main transport mode is decreasing even though it is so beneficial Why is this so How can people be encouraged to use more bicycles

Bicycle, being the most convenient mode of transport, has lost its popularity in the recent years. The reasons behind this changed phenomenon could be the advancement in the technology and changed preferences of the people. However, individuals can still be motivated to opt for bicycles in their daily routines.

No doubt, the use of bicycles has many health as well as social benefits which include strong leg muscles and cost-effectiveness respectively. Why people are abandoning the use of bicycles is directly related to the availability of other fast and more developed modes of transports. The cars and motorbikes make it easier for the people to commute to their destinations in lesser time as compared to bicycles. Moreover, life is quite fast-paced today, so, travel by bicycle is not possible in many situations.The use of bicycles is, indeed, declining in many parts of the world as people find it more time-consuming to cover their distances by these. Needless to mention, nowadays, having bicycle is not considered as a privilege but the symbol of poverty. Therefore, people from all age groups choose other means of transport rather than using bicycle.

Although majority of the citizens are discarding use of this ancient mode of travel, yet there are some initiatives by which the attitudes of the people can be changed. First of all, they can be made aware regarding the increased rates of pollution in the cities. Government can encourage the residents to

follow the Go-Green policy. As bicycles is an eco-friendly option, everyone should contribute to limit fuel-consumption and emissions. Secondly, the health benefits of regular cycling should be promoted by organizing seminars and cycling-events. Health specialists can recommend people to use bicycles to travel short-distances which can result in better stamina and fit body.

To sum up, though the use of bicycle has now become obsolete, the habit of using it regularly can be revived again. It will involve the efforts of government and the awareness among the masses.