In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. why might this be the case? do you think it is a positive or negative situation?

Home ownership is preferred over renting in some countries. A potential reason for this tendency may be the inheritability of property ownership and its resulting advantages for children. I believe this situation to be beneficial as it could result in stability by safegaurding families against inflation.

To elaborate, long-term security and future financial well-being of children is strongly emphasized within various cultures, especially those that tend to have a collectivist orientation. In these countries, family members are interdependent, supporting each other in financial affairs. As a result, parents may plan ahead for their children’s future and direct their resources toward ensuring that they will leave behind a substantial inheritence. Rented property prevents the accumulation of this capital and cannot be passed on to children, making it a less ideal option in collectivistic contexts.

Home ownership as a favored alternative to renting may be considered as positive, because it allows the society members to enjoy the benefits of having permanant access to shelter, which is not only a fundamental need of human beings but also an essential right. Renting does not gaurantee stability, as market prices undergo fluctuations and people are sometimes forced to downgrade their living conditions due to surges in real estate rents. Purchasing a home is a long-term investment that prevents such situations.

In conclusion, ownership of landed property enables the future family members to enjoy an inheritance that brings them security and certainty, potentially making it an attractive investment in interdependent households. I believe that favorable outcomes such as maintaining individuals’ life style and protecting them against inflations are expected from these assets.