Some children spend hours every day on smartphones.

Why is this the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The mobile phones have become an inseparable aspect of human lives and children have become attached to using these devices on a daily basis. This development may be due to the provided convenience for the parents, and the pleasant gaming exeperiences for the children, which I believe to be a positive feature of today’s world if used for educational purposes.

The reason may lie in the convenience and the variety of the activities smartphones provide. Specifically, phones have the ability to keep children busy and entertained without the parents’ intervention. As a result, parents may find it convenient to substitute their children’s active play time with mobile games, as this approach could allow them to free up time in their schedule. Simultanaously, children may find these devices more attractive than traditional hobbies such as painting and playing outside, because mobile games are designed in a way to be as engaging as possible since they leverage bright colors, joyful sounds, and point-based reward systems to appeal to children.

This recent change in children’s play style may be considered positive provided parents take an active and conscious role in managing the gaming experience of their children. By installing educational and informative applications, parents have the opportunity to transform the smartphones into invaluable learning tools that could enhance the childrens’ problem-solving abilities, critical thinking, and mental agility. For example, numerous math, physics, and programming games are available for various age groups, developed specially with the goal of teaching essential and beneficial skills through gamified interfaces.

In conclusion, digital devices including smartphones have become an integral part of parenting and chilhood. By adapting a conscious approach, parents could leverage on this development and transform the childrens’ involvement with technology into beneficial and worthwhile experiences.