In some countries, people are spending long hours at the workplace. Why does this happen? Is it a positive or negative development?

The employees are taking long hours at their companies. There are various reasons for this phenomenon and I believe that it is a negative growth.

It is common sense to say that long hours at companies stems from several underlying factors. Firstly, longer hours working can bring a higher payment. For example, it is reported that 70% of companies in Japan cut their employees’ monthly bonus if they do not work overtime. Consequently, when a person wants better wages, he will have to spend more time at the workplace. Secondly, the facilities installed in companies are becoming more and more convenient, which satisfy the employees’ requirement about the working environment. For example, about 51% workers of FPT corporation choose their company’s break room to have a nap time instead of going home when their company started serving lunch and break rooms for their employees.

From my perspective, longer time at the workplace is a no-good evolution. Firstly, the laborers will shorten the time with their families when they spend more time at work. Consequently, the relationship among the members will have distance, which can affect their mental health as well as working productivity. Secondly, working for a long time also leads to some physical health issues like obesity and degenerative spine when they have no time to do exercise. This not only seriously affects their job but also to their lives and families.

In conclusion, several factors might lead to the increase of hours in the workplace, and I am convinced that this is a negative expansion.