In some countries, shopping online is replacing shopping at store. Discuss both

the pros and cons of this trend.

Nowadays, in many countries, online shopping has gained in popularity and outweighed brick-and-mortar stores, and this trend has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this development is not without disadvantages, the upsides will justify these.

On the one hand, e-commerce has negative impacts on human life to some extent. First, since online shopping prevents customers from touching or feeling the product physically before making a purchase, sometimes they might gain unpleasant experiences of shopping. In fact, many online stores are likely to deliver inferior items for the purpose of increasing profits in a deceptive avenue, leading to customers’ frustration as a result. Second, by placing orders and completing online transactions, shoppers will be able to run the risk of being victimized by computer crimes, such as ID theft. This means that e-business has been a breeding ground for hi-tech crimes, like hackers, which makes their personal information invaded.

On the other hand, under no circumstances should the benefits of e-trading be marginalized. First, with a view to enhancing convenience for customers, online retailers offer door-to-door services. This means that every client even the busy ones can go shopping at ease with just a click of mouse, and the merchandise will be delivered to their house a few days later, which reduces plenty of time. Second, if people buy items via the Internet, they are more likely to get a bargain than the traditional way. In fact, there are a variety of online shopping platforms, such as Ebay, Amazon, Tiki, and they provide a diversity of price range, which is conducive to customers because they can compare the price before buying in order to have the best price.

In conclusion, although this trend has some disadvantages, the advantages can outweigh those. By making some improvements in cybersecurity, and return policy, e-commerce will gradually substitute the traditional retail models.