In some countries there are more young people choosing to enroll in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s education trend, there is an increasing number of students who participate in job-based courses, whereas other people disagree that they should study in universities. In this essay I will examine both sides and discuss why I think the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits.

To begin with, studying in occupation training is a useful way for teenagers who are not good at academic study in schools to get jobs. This is because, if job seekers can expertly master the work techniques and specific knowledge, they will have more opportunities to get offers when competing with college novices. Second, it is not enough for job seekers to only have high scores in college, the experience in the workplace such as restaurants, car industries and kindergartens etc, is also an important factor.

There are, however, also some detrimental effects on abandoning a university education. For one thing, more companies are demanding more than ever before, ruling a high standard of educational background and degrees for job seekers. Unfortunately, almost all of the graduates from job training courses fail to reach the level where they can earn higher salaries and survive in prosperous cities. For another thing, students with better learning environments and teaching resources have better chances of succeeding in a bachelor's degree or even a master's degree, while those who take training courses may struggle to take themselves to another level.

In conclusion, despite the popularity of work-based lessons, I remain convinced that the downsides outweigh the upsides. Also, accepting a university education is the best option for all young students.