In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city.

Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

You should write at least 250 words.

In several regions most undergraduates decide to live at home with their parents during their university period, whereas in other countries students tend to attend university with a long commuting distance. From my perspective, studying far from home, albeit somehow drawbacks, is associated with some more benefits.

Moving away from home for university curriculum can cause some unavoidable challenges for the students. Chiefs among these is how to allocate budget on their personal purpose appropriately, which can make students to think carefully before purchasing some products because their parents supply them an adequate amount of currency to utilize per month and it prevent them from the comfortable expense on distinctive things. If they desire to possess something that they are fond of, they must make a profound thought before paying money because it can cause the deficiency of cash on the last day of the month. Moreover, homesickness and loneliness are one of the factors that result in some drawbacks for undergraduates, which has a detrimental impact on mental health. This issue accounts for the decline in well-being and academic performance. Nevertheless, students will get used to their new life and they will overcome their initial fears of moving away from home.

In my opinion, moving to other regions to have a university education will bring numerous benefits for students. To begin with, it enables them to be more independent and self-reliant because they must engage in many different occupations to earn income to pay for their life instead of relying on their parents’ money, which may help them to be more successful in near future with the discipline and persistence. Apart from that, student will learn how to arrange their schedule reasonably, which will help them manage their life more efficiently without any troubles because they are mature to be aware of doing everything on their own in the absence of their parent assistance. Finally, living far from home can help students to be more punctual that is essential for either academic performance or promotion in work.

In conclusion, choosing another city to attend university may bring some unexpected experience and drawbacks for students. However, the positive far outweigh the negative with countless advantages which help to develop and enhance their life during university period.