In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Recently, the phenomenon having gaps between high school and university and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, youth in some developed nations are encouraged to find a job or make a trip for around when they graduated from high school. In my mind, apart from various advantages of this policy, its drawbacks must be taken into consideration.

Obviously, students, after nearly 12 years struggle in schools, feel some sort of tiredness. Hence, making an aboard journey paves the way to rehabilitate their exhausted energies. Because of trips, they are capable of being familiar with huge number of, of course, different cultures and tradition. Meanwhile, beholding loads of bizarre people, in students’ eye, leads to promote their insights and so they can make decisions about their future life more intelligently and reasonably.

In addition, students can pursue a far more different way. For example, getting noble experiences due to work before starting university. Difficulties which they may face during seeking an apt occupation, alongside endeavors while they attempt to fulfill their responsibilities at workplace, eventually will turn them into far more mature and rational men rather than previous unexperienced, unskilled, and crude students.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of the other side. Placing a year gap between high school and university ends up a great number of drawbacks. For instance, students have to postpone university curriculums and several issues might be aroused regarding adaptation process with new environment. Furthermore, during trips, if they decide to explore the world after finishing high school, it is likely that such incidents as suffering from diseases which are prevailing in several areas, or even vehicle accidents take place. Consequently, their future life may be jeopardized.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on cons and pros of a year gap before starting university, I am inclined to believe that this gap is necessary to enhance the formation of students’ personality as well as skills. By the way, leisure time before university acts as a pressed spring which release its vigor during university courses.