In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Many adolescents tend to work for a year before studying university. There have some pros and cons to that issue. On the one hand, there are several reasons why working in a new place is beneficial for young people. Firstly, they learn many practical skills to improve their soft skills and academic skills. Not only that, but they also learn a new language and speak fluently with foreign peers. Moreover, they have many foreign friends and exchange cultural information to know more together and help together in difficult situations. Secondly, they can explore new historical sites in the country where they’re working. On the other hand, there are a number of disadvantages of working abroad that people should consider carefully. To make it clear, typically, they have to be independent when they leave home, leave the hand of their parents, instead of it, they have to make a budget for themselves through paying for living expenses during staying in a homestay. Not only that, but they also don’t get used to acclimatizing to a new life, and the cultures at the beginning of working in a new country, they may be sensitive with many new people and severe work environment. In addition, unless they study hard in high school, it’s hard for them to learn academic knowledge and work in harsh conditions meanwhile they haven’t finished studying in high school yet, before studying university, most youths haven’t had experiences yet so that working abroad makes them confused and it’s difficult for them to choose a wise way between working early and continue studying university. In conclusion, working overseas could bring some benefits. However, its drawbacks shouldn’t be overlooked, so that before working in a new country, you should consider carefully among two choices such as working in a new place or starting studying university. In my opinion, studying at university is the best choice for people who want to improve their soft skills and increase their experiences academic knowledge.