In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities study. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, it is believed in several countries young people are thrusted to work or travel for a year among finishing high school and starting universities study. There are both advantages and disadvantages for people who make that decision. In this essay, I absolutely agree that it gives more advantages rather than disbenefit for some cases.

In the one hand, the main benefit of that matter is to reduce the risk of errors in the selection of majors when entering the universities. It is because in the one year they will work like their want to do, so directly they will know the actual situation in the workplace. Through the work experiences, they will determine themselves whether their expected job match with their passion or even not suitable. For example, they want to be an accounting but after experiencing it they feel that they are not compatible with the job because it relates to numbers, they are more comfortable with talking. As the result, their possibility to make wrong decision in terms of choosing majors to be small. So, it is no doubt advantages of the young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities study.

On the other hand, the negative of work or travel for a year before starting universities study is make the people lazy to start universities study. It is due to they have income that makes them comfortable and no longer want to continue their education anymore. Taken as an example, they get jobs that are suitable for the income they can use for sightseeing or shopping without thinking about burdens of universities. As the effect, their potential to make the people do not to continue their education to higer education. So, it is no doubt disadvantages of the young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year among before continue to higher education and after graduation high school.

To sum up, from right here I stand that I don’t believed if having a year to work or travel before starting universities study is a harm decision. In my opinion, it gives more merit that detriment to the high school grads, besides they can explore their lives, they also get work experience that is very helpful in a aspect of choosing majors later in higher education.