In some countries, young ppl have become richer, healthier, and live longer but they are less happy. What are the causes? What can be done to address this situation?

In many places, youngsters are believed to be healthier and have longer lifespans, but they are not necessarily happy, even if they have more possessions. It is the aim of this essay to unveil the reasons behind this phenomenon and give some solutions to this problem.

The main root cause of this current issue is advertising. In other words, the youth of today are strongly influenced by marketing. It makes them believe that they would derive more and more enjoyment from buying new things. According to a marketing research in the United States in 2020, most people participating in the survey said that they were definitely on temporary high when they purchased novel stuff. However, this fails to bring young people happiness. By contrast, it would only result in disillusionment among young people.

There are several ways to accommodate this problem. First of all, the authorities and national leaders should adopt a law on the restriction of advertising. The advertisements should be under scrutiny before being accessible to the public. Finland, which is the happiest country in the world, has recently restricted advertisements on the Internet and national television programmes. This has been proven to be effective when more people are recorded to give up buying new things and gradually become happier. Another proposition is to encourage youngsters to take up sports and musical instruments instead of being passive consumers of latest products. The governments should hold more competitions in sports and music so as to foster young people to participate in extracurricular activities actively.

In conclusion, the one principal reason for this current issue is advertising. It is the responsibility of governments and national leaders to restrict the activities of the marketing industry to bring more happiness to people. Besides, young people should be encouraged to take part in more activities to develop both their physical and emotional health.