In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Children in some countries are taught that if they put enough effort, they will make their dreams come true. This essay will highlight some benefits as well as drawbacks when children get this note.

On the one hand, this message would help to create a good habit in the kids which is always strive as much as they can. In other words, whenever they are young or grown-up, they may try hard to achieve their goals in both study and work. For example, a staff who was often studious to get high scores at school tends to make more efforts in her workplace to be advanced. Moreover, this way of teaching the children could motivate them to not give up easily even when they face difficulties. Take Vietnamese students as an example, some of them were born with poorer conditions such as starvation, poverty or diseases. However, they are taught by their family that attitudes determine altitudes, therefore they do not abandon and strive to get scholarships. Clearly, there are several advantages that are offered by the message mentioned.

On the other hand, this way of teaching could put pressure on the children. To be specific, they do not want to be considered as a lazy or weak person by parents, teachers or friends, so they work extremely hard, regardless of their health. In Vietnam, there is a large number of pupils suffering from stress, anxiety or depression because of grades and examinations. Another disadvantage is that the kids can have an inclination to blame themselves if they unsuccessfully reach their objective. Particularly, they may believe that they can not do it because they did not make enough efforts or they are inferior to others. As a result, it could lead to other problems relating to the emotional health of the children.

In conclusion, the message given provides some benefits regarding a good habit created in kids and a motivation to give them willpower. However, it also has several demerits related to stress and self-blaming. People should take both sides into consideration so that they can encourage their children in a proper way.