Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss Both views and give your opinion.

There are different opinions towards the power of advertising. While some people think it convinces users to purchase goods successfully, others claim that it has few effects on customers’ shopping habits. This essay will examine both views before reaching the conclusion that people are often persuaded to buy products by advertisements.

On the one hand, it is argued that these days, advertisements appear with a high level of frequency that extremely bother people. In more detail, a large number of people complain that they are bombarded by advertising every day, such as pop-up advertisements when they are watching TV, videos on Youtube or surfing Facebook. As a consequence, this situation creates an unconscious habit in them to avoid or ignore these ads. Moreover, the spread of advertising makes people suspicious about the quality of products. To be specific, they are provided numerous choices when shopping, which leads to careful consideration, regardless of attractive content. For example, several parents doubt the trustworthiness of a great number of ads about different types of milk when finding a suitable one for their children. It seems that advertising is unsuccessful in attracting customers.

On the other hand, I personally believe that advertisements have the power to convince people to buy products because of those characteristics. In other words, at present, advertisers strive to make their ads more creative, memorable and unique to draw the attention of others. For instance, several ads use a famous song with catchy lyrics and pretty melodies like Popeyes, which impress many people. As a result, people may have a good impression with these brands and want to try their products. Furthermore, advertisements today focus on the needs of people, so creating more precisely targeted ads than ever. Particularly, through surveys and browsing history of people, advertisers would catch the desires of customers to design ads effectively. Take medicines as an example, a great deal of advertisements concentrate on common signs of a disease based on people’s searching. Clearly, people may feel like they found a proper product to solve their problems.

In conclusion, although it is believed that advertising is too common to have the ability to persuade people, I am of the view that it is still efficient in attracting customers to purchase goods since it has become more and more unique and creative as well as it satisfies the demand of people.