In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It’s true that children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough in some cultures. In my opinion, I encouraged people to say it to their children, But I proposed that we use it carefully and for a good cause.

There’s a good explanation why a lot of people said it to their own children or students. People tend to use it as some kind of motivation that they can do anything their own children. In my past, my parents used it all the time or me to get motivated to be a good and rich doctor because I can help sick poor people in the future. It’s also being use as an attempt to give their children a spirit to study or do something meaningful for them. When my parents said that I can achieve being a doctor by studying hard enough, I studied for hours and forced my self to love biology lessons.

But as of now, being a grown up, I still think that what my parents said is right. Now, I love helping other people in need, I have a goal to help a lot of people in the future. But the problem is as reality hits a lot of adolescents, they tend to give up and being more realistic. When teenager face the reality that hits them, all of their spirit, delusion, the spirit that they can do anything is now dead because of competition with others. They can’t help but blame themselves. Even some teenager now is facing depression because they lose hope, all their expectation as a child lost nowhere.

In conclusion, while telling children that sentence as a pursue of motivation, it develops frustration in the future. That’s why telling them but with caution and tell them about reality carefully is a decent idea in the future.