Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

discuss both these vies and give your own opinion.

Controversy about how much liberty should give to children in everyday life is an interesting topic to discuss. Some groups of people believe that children should be granted to choose their preference related to what they eat, wear, or watch. However, some people opine that liberty for children will create a self-centered and selfish attitude. In my opinion, parents should neither give absolute privilege nor restrain in every matter. It is supposed to be a balance.

To begin with, giving children access to do whatever they want and authorizing them to choose everything they like would increase a sense of “can-do” everything among youngsters. This notion led to a detrimental effect on mental health, such as selfish and self-centered. Researchers from the physiology department of Melbourne University conveyed that children’s experience has a permanent record on the brain and will impact the way of thinking and behavior in later age. Therefore, parents must help and guide their offspring in making decisions, particularly in assessing good and bad effects. Following this, parents should deter their children from doing harmful things that could affect mental health.

On the other hand, activities that limit or restrict children from choosing their preferred things will provoke a negative impact such as less confidence and anti-social. Many teachers from primary school said that children who do not have the liberty to do everything they like tend to have less creativity. Following this, children who suffer from those conditions seem to be silent and do not interact with their counterparts.

All in all, even though children should be allowed to make their own choices, parents should give a guideline and boundaries to deter from a harmful effect. The balance will lead to creating a better generation which has creativity and selflessness.