Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument To what extent do you agree or disagree

In the day and age, many parents wonder if their children should be involved in playing musical instruments or focus on academic subjects at school. From my perspective, the benefits of playing a musical instrument outweigh those of studying science subjects.

On the one hand, there are many positive effects of taking part in music classes. Firstly, it can improve children's different soft skills because music trains their patience and concentration. This equips children with the necessary skills which can later be transferred into their personal lives, and result in career advancement. Moreover, learning music can help relieve stress and improve mood and emotions, results in a more positive life. For example, the children who engage in music lessons can have more time for themselves, understand themselves better and boost academic performance. Furthermore, beside those mentioned benefits, participating in music lessons can also stimulate the development of both brain hemispheres, leads to the fact that it could enhance creativity and helps kids grow up comprehensively. For instance, music will help children progress their imagination and artistic ability such as art, sculpture, literature or painting.

On the other hand, concentrating on academic subjects at school also plays a vital role. One of the major benefits of studying science subjects is that it equips kids with adequate knowledge and is also advantageous for future career as well. This helps them to get more employment opportunities and can find a higher salary occupation in such competitive market.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my point of view that both joining in a music lesson and studying academic subjects are all advantageous in there own ways. I honestly hope that every children can choose compatible way, depending on their situation.